Slice of life: Don’t exaggerate your motion input

Today, I got Just Dance 2016 from my local game shop, alongside Yoshi’s Woolly World. I played a few songs and so far, it seems like a pretty good game, if somewhat lacking in game-play. I was getting upset that I was only earning 3 and 2 star Rankings, when suddenly, my 5 minutes of fun were cut short; I twisted my ankle playing “I gotta feeling” by the Black Eyed Peas. Never mind the fact that the game was immediately switched out for Woolly World, I had to sit out the next hour watching Gino play his game.

At around 7:30 pm, I was able to limp around. I made the somewhat foolish decision to pop Just Dance 2016 back into my Wii U. It was then that I made an interesting discovery: the game apparently registers movement better when you don’t overdo it! With this knowledge, Gino and I sang and shimmied our way to three and four star performances, with Gino giving out near perfect karaoke scores! Naturally, I was surprised, as with one ankle, I outscored myself!

So if there’s a moral to be learned here, is that just because motion controls aren’t refined, that is no excuse to exaggerate your movements!

P.S: I just got 5 stars on the William Tell Overture. On a twisted ankle. What.

P.P.S: I’ll try my best to get the next part of the LP out this week, but no promises.

Leave a Reply

